Botanical Gardens

Several months ago, when I started my 101 in 1001 List, I made the goal to visit some sort of botanical gardens, and over Easter weekend, I was able to check that one off my list! I feel so fortunate I was able to go with a wonderful person and see some pretty great plants.

The Greater Des Moines Botanical Gardens is a nice escape from the city as well as the cold of Winter or Spring. The day we went, it was cold and rainy outside, and the gardens were a perfect pick-me-up, full of a lush landscape of plants in the conservatory. Because of Winter weather, the outdoor gardens don’t open until later on this season.

However, this calming oasis is worth a visit!

IMG_1067

 

IMG_0718

IMG_0719

IMG_0720

IMG_0721

IMG_0725

Even the view looking towards the city is calming!

IMG_0730

IMG_0731

IMG_0732

IMG_0733

IMG_0735

The orchids were vibrantly beautiful everywhere, each pop of color standing out among the brick and green.

IMG_0736

IMG_0738

If you ever get a chance to make your way to Des Moines, the Botanical Gardens are well worth a visit. Be sure to bring a camera. 🙂

-Caitlin

 

9 thoughts on “Botanical Gardens

  1. carynbee says:

    Awesome! Visiting a botanical garden is also on my 101 in 1001 list, and after seeing this, I’m really feeling inspired to make the trip into the city to see the botanical gardens. Your pictures are fantastic!
    beebythecoast.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

